DESTITUTE!!! When All Seems Lost

I went to the ocean of my existence and set my thoughts adrift on a frail vessel. It seemed calm, I had no idea a storm was coming.
Having sailed the seas before I new these waters could be treacherous but I was ill prepared for the storm that entered my life. It battered my vessel from all directions, my thoughts were scattered. Shaken to my very core, I closed my eyes and hoped it would stop like a bad dream. Somehow suddenly all was submerged in the depths. I could not bring my thoughts to the surface they sank, down and down.
As I drown suffocating in this emotion, I succumbed, abandoning myself as there was nothing else I could do, I said God please help me!
I awoke on the shore in safe harbor with a newfound sense of security and trust, still bewildered, I’m approached by The One who saved me, He smiled upon me and said your vessel was crushed, your thoughts were damaged by the storm and cast to the bottom of existence, in it’s lowest place, they can no longer help you.
If you Trust in Me I can help you form new thoughts and build a stronger vessel that will remain unsinkable throughout all of existence, I will teach you all you need to know to navigate these waters and weather any storm.
I request only that you help anyone drowning or struggling to stay afloat in the ocean of existence. Tell them what I did for you and how they too can gain the same results if they only trust in Me and do likewise with still others.

I said “I’ll do anything, just please help me?”

He has remained with me since, we sail together and pull countless people from the depths that would have otherwise perished, we cannot save them all, Some want to save their old thoughts but they are too burdensome and heavy, so they sink with them. We can only help the ones who want to be saved desperately enough to abandon themselves as they grasp on and cling to the vessel.

When we experience terribly tragic events, or changes in our lives which are beyond our comprehension, it defy’s reason to think we can sort it out in our minds, by our own power. We end up having any one or a combination of issues manifest as a result. (mental breakdowns, life crisis, have anxiety, depression, substance/alcohol abuse and/or panic attacks etcetera)
The question that causes the most difficulty is “WHY?”
We don’t always get an answer and even sometimes when we do, the answer is unacceptable to us.
I don’t want to give you the wrong impression. I’m not a religious fanatic. I do however have a belief and reliance upon God, His subtle guidance and protection.
That being said the answer to our questions is simple.
With a heart broken and complete self abandon say something like I did
“God with what has happened and whatever else you want from me, you can have it all, everything down to my very life, I give it to you it is already yours anyway, as it comes from you, just please help me”
My daily prayer is;
“God, please guide my thoughts and my actions, help me to be of maximum benefit to You and the people around me, protect me from myself, Thy will not mine be done in all things, Amen”

Try this it works I know a life today I didn’t think was possible, I’m happy despite the soul crushing death of my 14 year old son Jordan Timothy Byers, on 6/23/2005 may God rest his soul, bless him and keep him until we meet again, Amen

May He also bless you according to your willingness and abandon?

7 thoughts on “DESTITUTE!!! When All Seems Lost”

  1. Uncle Jason,
    Let me just say this… I love u so much and I want u to know u are one of my biggest inspirations in life to be a better person. I’ve heard stories of who u were and how you’ve become the man u are today… and ur journey wasn’t the best but I truly believe there was a reason for everything that has happened to u and because if u I have learned in life that God makes one better themselves by tearing them down until they have nothing else to lose but only to gain. U are one of my biggest hero’s and I mean it. I wish I could have u in my everyday life and see u more because u are someone my mamaw would want me to be around u are what she would say ” someone that is God sent and life changing” ur words reach out to people and pull them in. I believe Jordan is in ur soul and is reaching out to everyone through Gods word… through you. I know Jordan looks downon you everyday and puts his head high up and says “that’s my Dad! My hero!”

    We all love u so much and I hope that you understand that I hold u up to the best person I ever had in my life. My mamaw was my everything… and I see her in u.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am truly humbled, for the small part that I have actually participated in your life it makes me glad that you’ve gained anything. We share a similar spirit and I am honored having the privelege of knowing you even in part. Distance has not lessened my love for you, but has often made me wish I was closer that we had more time together. Thank you for your kindness, it’s nice to hear that I’m more than “Your crazy Uncle Jason” LOL Always remain true to yourself if you and your man seek each others happiness before your own you will always enjoy life together, if you don’t expect anything, everything’s a bonus after that, Love you Niecey, Uncle J

      Like

  2. Really good writing Jason, Only someone that has been through this can relate in the same way but the truth is we have all been destitute at some point and you have eloquently stated here just how we must come to a point of complete surrender and give it all to the one that provides hope.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

