Emotional Trap

First of all let me start by saying I’m not a mental health professional.
Making the world a better place starting with me. Emotions that we experience can be great, even perceived negative emotion can be beneficial for healing, however there are times they are too much (high-high/ low-low and long lasting) I used to find myself down or in a bad mood and that would be as far as I got with any thought of it. Then I’d just try to shrug it off and move on. Conversely, I’d find myself over elated, nervous, or bouncing off the walls. Emotions can take hold if we allow them to and we can get stuck in a pattern (trap).
THE SOLUTION IS IN THE PROBLEM!
(Balance)
What I do differently is- I pay attention to how I’m feeling and then search out the why of it.
Problems
CIRCUMSTANCES of life or situation based
Illness, sudden change, death, loneliness, tiered, hungry, mental strain, job, relationships, and so on.
Empathy, negative, angry, depressed, bitter, and nasty people can affect us as well.
As obvious as it sounds the opposite of the problem is usually the solution. When this cannot be achieved the answer is acceptance and making the best of it or bringing as much good out of our example of living (overcoming or living contently with our problem)
Try to limit fellowship with negative people or help them become positive
Proper Perspective
First address why and then work on getting out of it by going through it. Pen and paper
Cause –
Can I change it-
Do I need to accept it

Gratitude list are very good also
What are you grateful for?
“The opposite of curse is blessing”

Empathy and outside stimulation
People, entertainment, hospitals, funerals, Facebook lol

If you’re depressed comedy is good.
Watch a “baby laughing video”
Funny animals, skits. Etcetera.
Laughter is truly the best medicine for most everything. Lack of physical activity, low lighting, sad people, sugars, stimulants and medications. Be mindful of what you put in yourself and the paths.
Eat, see,hear,feel
DO WHAT MAKES YOU HAPPY!

If you’re over elated or nervous
Is coffee, caffeine or sugar a problem
Noise or a bustling environment, even things like odors, smoke,and bright light can factor in.
Find a nice quiet spot and listen to nature or some soft music
TRY TO CALM YOURSELF

The main thing is question the emotion and seek proper perspective.

“You’ve got to accentuate the positive and deliberate the negative and look out for Mr. In between”

This is a quote from Alcoholics Anonymous book pg.. 417

Acceptance
“And acceptance is the answer to all my problems today.
When I am disturbed,
It is because I find some person, place, thing, situation —
Some fact of my life — unacceptable to me,
And I can find no serenity until I accept
That person, place, thing, or situation
As being exactly the way it is supposed to be at this moment.
Nothing, absolutely nothing happens in God’s world by mistake.
Until I could accept my alcoholism, I could not stay sober;
Unless I accept life completely on life’s terms,
I cannot be happy.
I need to concentrate not so much
On what needs to be changed in the world
As on what needs to be changed in me and in my attitudes.”

Leave a Reply

